top of page

Composing - Qualifications VS Self Taught

When it comes to composing music, there is much debate about how much having qualifications and attending prestigious universities can affect the music you produce. I write this article from the point of view of someone who has next to no qualifications, but composes with what comes into their mind drawing on techniques I have learned through listening.

From my experiences, people who have studied music composing do have an advantage in that they know more techniques, skills in styles, layers and use of instruments. However I think that, while it is important, you should not disregard someone with little knowledge of these things. I have no classical training, but when I compose, I know what instruments to use, where, how to layer them and create the best mood for what I am trying to portray. And I do this simply by feeling alone. I imagine a piece of music, and I make it. It may seem very simplistic and maybe naïve, but hey, I am young. I will learn more and more as I compose more and more. This, to me, seems a perfectly legit way to start composing. One day I will study more in depth the technical aspects of composing to better my skills. But for now, I will just continue to make music that pleases me.

Speaking of making music to please, that is perhaps where qualifications come in. I can create a lot of genres of music, from generic terms such as happy, sad, epic, dark horror, uplifting etc. But I admit I may be limited by my lack of understanding of all the different techniques of each of these genres. Composing for myself, making music I enjoy, is one thing, but when asked to compose for a project or film becomes something else. Matching the correct style of mood for each moment of the film is achievable, but perhaps with more knowledge through study, your options of how to compose and create certain moods could be increased. Some would argue this is the difference between professionalism and amateurism.

I have found through talking with many composers, that there is a slight divide in the two worlds of academics and ‘hobbyists’. But, at least in music, I would like to believe that we don’t live in a world where only the academic can achieve success in a music career. Perhaps anyone who just even shows potential should be nurtured and helped to better themselves. Not everyone has a chance to go and study music, does that mean they should give up? Of course not. Some academics can look down on the amateur composer, and perhaps have reasons to, especially if they can make something great with no training! But then remember most of todays ‘stars’ come from nothing, sitting in their bedroom making music on their terrible sound bites software.

But as with all aspects of achieving any talent, it is a combination of the more you know and the more practiced you are (and the people you know seems to go a long way in the composing industry too..). Gaining experience the more you compose. Learning new things each time. Studying other works. All need to be done to become the best composer you can be. Starting with no training and just feeling the music alone is a fine way to start. But study and knowledge will have to come into it to progress. However, how you study is up to you. You can go to a university and get a degree. Or you can read up many article online and listen to countless composer’s works. There are now many ways to further your knowledge and I don’t believe the route you take, classical training or self-taught, matters all that much. What matters is your drive to learn and better your skills as a composer.

So both have their merits. Having the knowledge through study will expand your skills as a composer, but having the drive, passion and talent to compose, is more than enough to do it. It is never too late to start, and never too late to learn.

YouTube - www.youtube.com/steddars

Twitter - @SSComposer

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page